W: A Review on the Run

No Spoilers Allowed

by The Short Twin

W was classic Stone.  Great stuff. Stone opens up all sorts of psychological and conspiratorial notions and the result left me thoughtful and. . . touched.  I had no idea the movie was long – it flew by.  One of Oliver Stone’s talents is in putting the viewer inside his characters’ minds and in W., he accomplished this with verve.

The ending is magnificent.

In a way, it reminded me of the even stranger and equally touching Bubba Ho-Tep.

On another note, I wonder if Colin Powell waited until now (I expected sooner) to support Obama because of the movie.

I went to W. without reading any reviews and I’m glad of it.  Glancing over a Google results page, it appears some people are reacting to Stone’s not being Michael Moore. This isn’t a documentary; this is a movie based in fact. Based. It’s Stone’s take on reality. It’s fiction, just like JFK and his other movies. Here’s an interview with Stone on the reactions to the movie.

W creator stands by film

From NBC’s Lauren Appelbaum and Abby Livingston
Director Oliver Stone spoke to reporters this morning about his movie W., a biopic on President Bush’s rise to the presidency and his role in the lead-up to the Iraq War.

Stone, director of JFK, Born on the Fourth of July, Nixon and Platoon, has been the subject of fierce criticism for occasionally taking artistic license in his previous efforts.  With that track record, releasing an often-unflattering film about a sitting president at the height of the political season has put Stone squarely under the political hot lamp.  Read more here.

2 Comments

  1. I can’t wait to see this film. Unfortunately, it isn’t playing at my local theater. Grr. I hate living in a redneck wasteland. Guess I’ll have to wait for it to come out on DVD. I’m so happy to see someone else enjoyed Bubba Ho-Tep. Everyone I’ve tricked into watching that with me has hated it. I’m pretty sure a few of them are holding a grudge, at least that would explain why they won’t come back for another movie night. Oh well, I love Bruce Campbell and I’m not ashamed of it. I thought Bubba Ho-Tep was hilarious and oddly sweet. As for Colin Powell, he’s always struck me as a man who mostly likes to play it safe. I think he waited until this close before the election to make his support known because he wanted to watch the trends in the polls and become comfortable with the public’s perception of Obama’s campaign.

  2. For those that don’t know, Bubba Ho-Tep is a sweet yet oddly unclassifiable movie about Old Elvis and Old JFK. And Bubba Ho-Tep, the redneck mummy. The King (Bruce Campbell) and Kennedy (Ossie Davis) are still alive and in hiding, and. . . JFK has been disguised as a black man.

    Ironic, don’t you think? ;-)

    The Short Twin


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

